Forex Tester 2 Forum

Our site www.forextester.com
It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Volumes
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO
I just started playing with FT and started by importing the data from FT site. The data just includes a flat volume. Is there another source that includes buy and sell volumes? A lot of my strategies use that volume information.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volumes
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:39 pm
Posts: 836
vfc3 wrote:
I just started playing with FT and started by importing the data from FT site. The data just includes a flat volume. Is there another source that includes buy and sell volumes? A lot of my strategies use that volume information.


We do not have such a source, and FT can work only with 1 volume value per bar.

_________________
Hasta la vista
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volumes
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO
Terranin wrote:
We do not have such a source, and FT can work only with 1 volume value per bar.


Blah...oh well thanks. Don't suppose there are plans to add this later?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volumes
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:02 pm
Posts: 37
vfc3 wrote:
Terranin wrote:
We do not have such a source, and FT can work only with 1 volume value per bar.


Blah...oh well thanks. Don't suppose there are plans to add this later?

That really isnt something that is available in Forex.. Since there dozens of different liquidity providers, each with their own volumes..
Most times, Volume in forex simply means how many ticks per bar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volumes
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO
ghamm wrote:
vfc3 wrote:
Terranin wrote:
We do not have such a source, and FT can work only with 1 volume value per bar.


Blah...oh well thanks. Don't suppose there are plans to add this later?

That really isnt something that is available in Forex.. Since there dozens of different liquidity providers, each with their own volumes..
Most times, Volume in forex simply means how many ticks per bar


I understand...but even if you had the volume data from a single large provider, it would probably be representative of the market as a whole. Of course you wouldn't want to get volume from different source than tick data...

Not a big deal anyway...there are always more strategies to test :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:45 am
Posts: 1
I just started downloading data from xauusd pair and each m1 record contains the same value(4) for volume field. Is there any way to get some meaning information concerning the volume traded? It could be real volume or number of ticks or... I don't know what else? :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 302
As was mentioned above, in Forex volume is generally considered irrelevant, since the vast majority of the trading volume occurs between major institutions and is unavailable to most liquidity providers and pretty much all retail brokers. Even the 'number of ticks' type of volume data is useless since retail brokers and liquidity providers almost always filter and massage the data they receive before they pass it on to their clients.

Forex data in general needs to be viewed in the long context; focusing on ticks, short timeframes and inaccurate derived data like volume leaves a trader far too exposed to the many noise sources in the system. I would strongly recommend ignoring volume entirely.

_________________
Tantalus Research - Developing 21st Century Trading Systems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Posts: 905
Josep wrote:
I just started downloading data from xauusd pair and each m1 record contains the same value(4) for volume field. Is there any way to get some meaning information concerning the volume traded? It could be real volume or number of ticks or... I don't know what else? :cry:


Free data that we provide do not have volumes, if you need volumes then you can download data from our data service (http://forextester.com/HistoryServiceDescription.html )

_________________
Check our other products here:
www.fx-metropolis.com
www.forexcopier.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group