How to use custom indicator in the strategy

Examples step by step how to make your own automated strategy or user indicator
Message
Author
nn2014
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:09 pm

How to use custom indicator in the strategy

#1 Postby nn2014 » Thu May 08, 2014 8:15 pm

Hi,

I have implemented custom indicator "MyIndicator" and installed in forextester and I can add it and see on my screen. I have strategy implemented to make orders automatically, which works as well, but when I try to load my custom indicator in my strategy code, nothing happens, after loading the strategy I don't see the indicator loaded and painted.

I'm using the regular C++ function CreateIndicator(Currency, Timeframe, "MyIndicator", "param1;param2;param3") to load the indicator in the code.

Can someone someone confirm if I can use my custom indicator and load it from strategy code.

Thanks.

User avatar
Terranin
Site Admin
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:39 pm

Re: How to use custom indicator in the strategy

#2 Postby Terranin » Sun May 11, 2014 9:26 am

nn2014 wrote:Hi,

I have implemented custom indicator "MyIndicator" and installed in forextester and I can add it and see on my screen. I have strategy implemented to make orders automatically, which works as well, but when I try to load my custom indicator in my strategy code, nothing happens, after loading the strategy I don't see the indicator loaded and painted.

I'm using the regular C++ function CreateIndicator(Currency, Timeframe, "MyIndicator", "param1;param2;param3") to load the indicator in the code.

Can someone someone confirm if I can use my custom indicator and load it from strategy code.

Thanks.


Yes, you can. There is no difference between standard and custom indicators in ForexTester. They are all in *.dll files. If you can not load your indicator from strategy, then there is probably a mistake in parameters list or in indicator's name. Check the journal, there could be some info about errors.
Hasta la vista
Mike

violajsilver
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm

Re: How to use custom indicator in the strategy

#3 Postby violajsilver » Mon May 09, 2016 11:56 pm

I was searching for the same question and I found it here.


Return to “Programming lessons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests