Document on library

Examples step by step how to make your own automated strategy or user indicator
toyogo00

Document on library

#1 Postby toyogo00 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:06 am

Hi,

I'm an experienced programmer in MT4 and I'm familiar with C++ programming language. I would like to find out

a. is there a document in FT with all the library - command/functions?
b. is there a document in comparison between the two packages' library. for example,

MT 4 ----------------------- FT
SetIndexBuffer() ------- equivalent of this function
SetIndexLabel() -------- equivalent of this function
iMAOnArray() ------------ equivalent of this function
IndicatorCounted() ----- equivalent of this function

Regards,
Toyogo

dackjaniels

Re: Document on library

#2 Postby dackjaniels » Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:57 am

toyogo00 wrote:Hi,

I'm an experienced programmer in MT4 and I'm familiar with C++ programming language. I would like to find out

a. is there a document in FT with all the library - command/functions?
b. is there a document in comparison between the two packages' library. for example,

MT 4 ----------------------- FT
SetIndexBuffer() ------- equivalent of this function
SetIndexLabel() -------- equivalent of this function
iMAOnArray() ------------ equivalent of this function
IndicatorCounted() ----- equivalent of this function

Regards,
Toyogo

Hi Toyogo,
The ForexTester (FT) help files contain details of the functions/commands available for creating indicators and strategies (Help Menu, Indicators API and Strategies API).

AFAIK there is no document describing equivalent functions in MT4 but, whilst I am not an expert MT4 programmer, I have been able to quite easily identify the appropriate functions.

A few points that may help reduce the learning curve: