Unable to import HST data

Sources of data to import to the program
Message
Author
maindoor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:06 am

Unable to import HST data

#1 Postby maindoor » Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:28 am

Hi,

I am demo'ing FT2 and it looks promising.
Have a bit of a problem importing HST data from my broker oanda.
Can someone take a look and see what could be wrong ?
I can provide the file, what is a preferred way of sharing a 7zip'ed file of size 40Mb HST file ?

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#2 Postby FX Helper » Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:48 am

Hello,

You can post this file in Internet and then post the link on this forum or send it to our email support@forextester.com

If you are trying to import .hst data from MT4 platform of new build into Forex Tester then you need 2.9.7 version of Forex Tester.

Please download and install new version of Forex Tester which allows to import .hst data from the MT4 platforms of new builds, better install it into another folder (like, C:\ForexTester2New).
You can download the program here: www.forextester.com/files/temp/setuprus.exe

The installer will be in Russian (sorry for this, we will add English version in nearest time) but you will be able to change the language of program to English (or any else) in the program.

maindoor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:06 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#3 Postby maindoor » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:12 am

goes to a 404 page.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#4 Postby FX Helper » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:45 am

Hello,

Please use this link:
http://ftdev.dyndns.biz/Files/setuprus.exe

To add the file from new Metatrader build please select “Metatrader new history format .hst” option when importing data into Forex Tester

dfumagalli
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 2:54 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#5 Postby dfumagalli » Mon Nov 02, 2015 1:27 pm

Hello,

I have downloaded the software and installed it, however it won't start. It says there's an exception "Not commercial version", despite my Forex Tester 2.9.6 is licensed.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#6 Postby FX Helper » Tue Nov 03, 2015 5:44 am

Hello,

Please try to disable your antivirus and launch this version again, this should help.

dfumagalli
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 2:54 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#7 Postby dfumagalli » Tue Nov 03, 2015 1:43 pm

FX Helper wrote:Hello,

Please try to disable your antivirus and launch this version again, this should help.


Hello,

unfortunately this suggestion did not work:

FT_Error.png
FT_Error.png (58.55 KiB) Viewed 4485 times



Notice the antivirus icon with a "!" indicating it's been deactivated.


This is quite an issue for me, because I have sold Forex Tester to a Forex course where all students use the same broker (one whose history is not available with your paid data services) and all constantly need to import the bars from HST files (critical for scalping).
If I don't find a way to make it work, they'll return Forex Tester and will want a refund.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#8 Postby FX Helper » Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:03 am

Hello,

Please download an archive with installed Forex Tester version from our server:
http://ftdev.dyndns.biz/Files/ForexTester_297.zip

Then unpack the archive into a new folder and launch Forex Tester program.
Does it help?

dfumagalli
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 2:54 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#9 Postby dfumagalli » Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:28 pm

Hello,

the zipped version works, as long as I start it as Administrator.

It also imports the HST file I have tested, I am going to see with a student if she manages to import the Forex pairs she needs but I am positive she'll succeed.

Only issue is when I quit: FT some times throws an exception in NTDLL.dll that version 2.9.6 doesn't.
The splash screen shows "Copyright 2014".

Finally, nowadays Metatrader 4 lets people move stop loss and profit from the chart, with a great speed up useful for scalpers. Forex Tester should allow the same, after all the code for dragging and dropping levels is already implemented. As of now, FT has got less comfortable usage than the basic MT4, which is not appealing and makes FT look outdated.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Unable to import HST data

#10 Postby FX Helper » Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:47 am

Hello,

We plan to add the possibility to drag SL/TP levels from chart in the next versions of our software.

ntdll.dll is a built-in Windows file, maybe you have some files of Windows corrupted, if you launch the program on onther computer you shouldn't have this issue.
So this should be a small local Windows issue.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or need any help.


Return to “Data sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest