Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

Sources of data to import to the program
Message
Author
questrpd
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:24 am

Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#1 Postby questrpd » Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:46 am

I downloaded the historical data for the indian stocks in the csv format. When I tried to upload the same in forex tester in the same format i get error & I cannot use the program for testing the indian stocks. Can you explore possibility of adding nse in your list of brokers so that we can directly use the tester to download stocks data from your servers?

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#2 Postby FX Helper » Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:39 am

Hello,

Can you post the file with data here or send it to use by email? We will check if these data can be imported into the program.

questrpd
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:24 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#3 Postby questrpd » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:47 am

Hello

I have mailed the sample files for scrutiny. I will try to upload files here also if there is no size restriction. I am sure if the direct stock files can tested in FT2 it would be wonderful program that every one would buy. I would personally promote the program in India on large scale. Sorry failed to upload file in the forum. Will try it again some time later

Regards

Deshpande

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#4 Postby FX Helper » Wed Jun 24, 2015 6:46 am

Hello,

OK, I answered you by email, please check your email box.

questrpd
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:24 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#5 Postby questrpd » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:01 am

Hi

Checked the formatted file. When I see the Date & Time data it has no format. Can you tell in what format should I use date and time for uploading the file. On receipt of reply I will do it for other stocks & get back to you in case of problem.

Regards
Deshpande

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#6 Postby FX Helper » Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:03 am

Hello,

The data should have this format:

20100401,020000,0.91700,0.91740,0.91700,0.91720,71
20100401,020500,0.91720,0.91820,0.91720,0.91780,109
20100401,021000,0.91770,0.91790,0.91750,0.91760,109
20100401,021500,0.91750,0.91800,0.91750,0.91770,121

First column YYYYMMDD but it also can be DDMMYYYY, MMDDYYYY, MMDDYY etc.
Second column is time - 020000 means 02 hours 00 minutes 00 seconds. hour and minute can be changed but seconds need to be 00 always.
Next columns are Open, High, Low, Close, Volume

questrpd
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:24 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#7 Postby questrpd » Sat Sep 05, 2015 11:31 am

Hi
Since so many days I was trying to upload the indian data in FT2 but with no success. Earlier i used to get file conversion errors but now i have made the file to suit FT2 format so i see no file conversion errors. But once I start to import data from file I get error cant import file which is frustating. I am attaching here with screen shot of error. I need your help in resolving the issue. I have mailed the sample data files on mike@forextester.com

Regards
Pramod Deshpande
Attachments
FT2_file_import_error.png
There are no file convertion errors but while data import i get error message.
FT2_file_import_error.png (100.11 KiB) Viewed 5929 times

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#8 Postby FX Helper » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:27 am

Hello,

Please note that earlier data should be at the top of the file, and further data should be at the bottom.
Please look at the formate of data from my previous message:
20100401,020000,0.91700,0.91740,0.91700,0.91720,71
20100401,020500,0.91720,0.91820,0.91720,0.91780,109

So you need to sort the data in file from A to Z (via Excel, for example).

If this doesn't work please send a sample of file to email support@forextester.com

bull375
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:48 pm

Re: Uploading Indian stock in forex tester

#9 Postby bull375 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:29 am

Hi Parmod,
Were you able to find a solution importing stock 1 min data to Forex tester 2 or 3?

Regards,
bull375


questrpd wrote:Hi
Since so many days I was trying to upload the indian data in FT2 but with no success. Earlier i used to get file conversion errors but now i have made the file to suit FT2 format so i see no file conversion errors. But once I start to import data from file I get error cant import file which is frustating. I am attaching here with screen shot of error. I need your help in resolving the issue. I have mailed the sample data files on mike@forextester.com

Regards
Pramod Deshpande


Return to “Data sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests