Could not generate ticks after imported history from FXCM

Sources of data to import to the program
Message
Author
kchow
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:33 am

Could not generate ticks after imported history from FXCM

#1 Postby kchow » Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:51 am

Hi,
I tried to import historical data for GBP.CAD from FXCM.
The data was exported fine, with 1min from 1/1/2012 to 12/31/2014.
There was no error, but the Imported 1 min history showed red color (with 1988 bars), instead of green (see enclosed picture)
And when I clicked Generate ticks, nothing happened.

Questions:
1) What do I need to do to correct this problem?
2) I deleted the Symbols GBP.CAD before I did this, because the previous set was incomplete. Is there a place/directory/file that I need to delete it from the system, so that it can start out fresh?

Please let me know soon.
Thank you!
KC
Attachments
GBPCAD_error.JPG
GBPCAD_error.JPG (64.19 KiB) Viewed 3908 times

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Could not generate ticks after imported history from FXC

#2 Postby FX Helper » Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:42 am

Hello,

You see red bar because you have too low number of bars for 2 years of data. But you should see bars on chart anyway.

Please click "Generate ticks" button, select "GBPCAD" pair, select start and end dates of generation and click "Generate".
Then switch to Testing Mode, add chart of GBPCAD pair via File -> Add New Chart menu and start a new test.

Can you do this?

kchow
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Could not generate ticks after imported history from FXC

#3 Postby kchow » Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:11 pm

It froze on the 1st day of 12/20/12.
When I click "Generate ticks", it seemed that it did nothing.
So, when I moved to Testing mode, and click Run test, it only run for about couple hours for one day.
I have reboot the system and tried this several times.
The same result as reported here.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Could not generate ticks after imported history from FXC

#4 Postby FX Helper » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:44 am

Hello,

Can you send this data file to email support@forextester.com so I can try to help?

There are only 1988 bars in this file that's why Forex Tester generated ticks so fast. Please click "Generate ticks" button, select correct start date and end date so Forex Tester can generate ticks from 2012 till 2014 year.
Then switch to Testing Mode, start a new test and check what end date you see during testing.


Return to “Data sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest