Data from multiple brokers

Sources of data to import to the program
Message
Author
sqaguru
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:52 pm

Data from multiple brokers

#1 Postby sqaguru » Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:52 am

Hello,

Does Forex Tester support keeping data from different brokers for the same symbol, so that I can view them individually for comparison? Related to this, if one can have data from multiple brokers for the same symbol, can one open separate charts to display each of the broker data sources?

Thanks

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Data from multiple brokers

#2 Postby FX Helper » Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:14 am

Hello,

You can download the data for EURUSD pair from Forexite broker, for example, then rename the pair into EURUSDFOREXITE, after this, add EURUSD symbol and download data from other broker.
After this, you will have the data for this pair from a few brokers.

sqaguru
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:52 pm

Re: Data from multiple brokers

#3 Postby sqaguru » Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:58 pm

Thank you. How do I know which broker's data are from which sessions (London, New York, etc.)? Thanks

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Data from multiple brokers

#4 Postby FX Helper » Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:42 am

Hello,

All our data are provided in GMT+0 time zone by default.
You can change the time zone of each pair via the "Shift time" slider.
So when you click on the pair name you will see its timezone.

sqaguru
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:52 pm

Re: Data from multiple brokers

#5 Postby sqaguru » Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:19 am

It looks like my question was misunderstood. What I meant to ask is if all brokers provide data from the same source, or if any data is coming from specific sessions. How does data from the different brokers differ? Are some more accurate than others? Etc.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Data from multiple brokers

#6 Postby FX Helper » Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:47 am

Hello,

Each broker gives a bit different prices, so the bars on a chart should be similar but there will not be exact prices in the data from two different brokers.
If your strategy is not a price sensitive then you can use the data from any broker, the results of the strategy will be similar.


Return to “Data sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest