FT3 keeps crashing

Bug reports and errors in the program
Message
Author
boxcarracer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:25 pm

FT3 keeps crashing

#1 Postby boxcarracer » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:35 pm

I recently upgraded to FT3 and so far I'm really disappointed. The program very, very often stops responding. After restarting part of my test is gone and I see stuff like in attached screens. I tried with new history and installation but the problem remains. It doesnt matter if I test 1 or 28 pairs. Old version was freezing sometimes, but not that often.
Generally I feel like I paid for 1 useful feature which is drag and drop and for turning the annoying auto-scroll off. That should be already in the previous version. I also bought a VIP data subscription and I have to say that it is a joke. Calling it a high quality data for 118 symbols is not even funny (one screen as example in attachments but I can provide a lot more). Many of the symbols got a positive spread in tick data which means instant win and that is unreal. FT2 was worth every penny. Sorry to say that but it just screams at me that FT3 was just to squeeze some $$$.
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (203.15 KiB) Viewed 1935 times
screen_00002.png
screen_00002.png (32.26 KiB) Viewed 1935 times
screen_00001.png
screen_00001.png (26.23 KiB) Viewed 1935 times

Lana_FT_support
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:26 am

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#2 Postby Lana_FT_support » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:07 am

Thank you for the comment.

We recommend to do the following to solve the stops responding issue in Forex Tester:

1. Always launch the program as administrator (right-click the Forex Tester icon -> run as administrator).
2. Remove all indicators instances that you do not need at the current moment.
For example, you may have 2 MA on 2 timeframes (let’s say on M5 and M15) of one chart. Each of these MA instances will be calculated separately, so it is recommended to remove all indicators that you do not need at the current moment and leave the indicators only on the timeframes which you use. In this case our program will need less time to load the project.
3. Check that no automatic strategies are running at this moment, or just turn off strategy execution ("Testing -> Enable/Disable Strategy execution" menu).
4. Create a new project and use the "Generate ticks by OHLC points" option.
5. Perhaps some of your data files were corrupted. Delete the data using the “Clear history” button, download it from Data Center again and start a New Project.
This should fix the issue which is in the last two screenshots.

As for the IBM data (1st screenshot), the data is not of a bad quality. The horizontal bar shows much red because the quality level is based on Forex, which works 24 hours, and IBM is traded just a part of the day - from 9:30AM till 4PM EDT. We show the gaps in red color.
We will change the color of the quality bar, as red looks really misleading.

wowzers
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:35 pm

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#3 Postby wowzers » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:00 am

Yep, keeps crashing for me tooo!
Just Garbage

Lana_FT_support
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:26 am

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#4 Postby Lana_FT_support » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:21 am

Would you please archive and send C:\ForexTester3\LOGS folder to support@forextester.com?
We'll investigate the issue and do our best to help you out.

boxcarracer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:25 pm

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#5 Postby boxcarracer » Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:38 am

Thank you Lana for the response. Of course I tried different things to solve the problem but it still remains.
1. When I launch it as administrator, the program changes to trial version and I can't register it due to some errors. I need to open it normally again and only then it registers without a problem.
2. I use clean chart only.
3. Just manual strategy.
4. Not helping.
5. I suspected that to cause the problems, but even after clearing and downloading history again "not responding" happens. As I mentioned it doesn't matter if I test 40 pairs or just 1.

Regarding red color in data mode you were right.
Attachments
screen_00003.png
screen_00003.png (87.7 KiB) Viewed 1860 times
FT3 error 2.png
FT3 error 2.png (291.24 KiB) Viewed 1860 times
FT3 error.png
FT3 error.png (189.12 KiB) Viewed 1860 times

boxcarracer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:25 pm

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#6 Postby boxcarracer » Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:50 am

And "Not Responding" again
Attachments
screen_00006.png
screen_00006.png (82.07 KiB) Viewed 1860 times
screen_00004.png
screen_00004.png (91.52 KiB) Viewed 1860 times
not responding.png
not responding.png (202.61 KiB) Viewed 1860 times

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: FT3 keeps crashing

#7 Postby FX Helper » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:54 am

Please download the newest version of the Forex Tester 3 from our site:
http://www.forextester.com/files/ForexT ... upEng3.exe

and install it into another folder.

Then launch if from a new folder and always launch the program.

If the error occurs again, please open the Forex Tester 3 folder and send bugreport.txt and all files from LOGS folder to us to email support@forextester.com.

Our programmers have added detailed logging in this new version so this info can help us to find the reason of the issue.


Return to “Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest