SendInstantOrder - is there an issue with comments?

Bug reports and errors in the program
oublette

SendInstantOrder - is there an issue with comments?

#1 Postby oublette » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:12 am

Hi I hope you can help me,

I'm using FT3 and trying to create an automated strategy to test. This is my first attempt at strategy building for FT.

I seem to have no problem creating an instant order using the following code using the C++ API:

Code: Select all

if (SendInstantOrder(Currency, op_Buy, 0.1, 0, 0, "TestComment", 0, i_OrderHandle)) {
    // get the entry price for the trade
    TTradePosition info;
    if (GetOrderInfo(i_OrderHandle, info) == true) {
        // set the stop loss
   ModifyOrder(i_OrderHandle, info.OpenPrice, (info.OpenPrice - (d_ATR * 3)), 0);
    }
}

.... but.. the comment is not attached to the order and the comment field in the Account History window is empty.

Has any one seen this issue before and can make a suggestion on how to fix it? Is this same issue seen with the Delphi API? Am I doing something wrong here in setting the comment and if any one has some example code of how to do this correctly I would very much appreciate it. The information I can see in the API guide would make me think I am doing this correctly.

Many thanks in advance.

oublette

Re: SendInstantOrder - is there an issue with comments?

#2 Postby oublette » Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:34 pm

To add some more detail to this.... It looks like the issue is not with the SendInstantOrder function, but with the ModifyOrder function.

Creating this order in this manner:

double stop_loss;
if (order_type == op_Buy) {
   stop_loss = Bid() - (atr * 3);
} else {
   stop_loss = Bid() + (atr * 3);
}
SendInstantOrder(Currency, order_type, 0.1, stop_loss, 0, comment, 0, order_handle);

Creates the order and attaches the Comment to the order correctly.. but when I then modify the order, the comment is lost. This is demonstrated by the code below: