Shortcut Keys

Share your ideas how the software could be improved
Message
Author
Bandiit
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm
Contact:

Shortcut Keys

#1 Postby Bandiit » Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:13 pm

I think it might be a good idea if users can configure short keys so when tester is running you don't need to grab for a mouse just press ALt+B for buy order etc. and you can also have configured keys for SL and TP.

Kind of like scripts used in MT4 by scalpers.

User avatar
Terranin
Site Admin
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:39 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#2 Postby Terranin » Sun Jan 10, 2010 11:43 am

Bandiit wrote:I think it might be a good idea if users can configure short keys so when tester is running you don't need to grab for a mouse just press ALt+B for buy order etc. and you can also have configured keys for SL and TP.

Kind of like scripts used in MT4 by scalpers.


There are already short keys on Ctrl+B for buy and Ctrl+S for sell. :) And you can configure predefined list of orders in Tools->Options->Trading. Also see useful hotkeys in Forex Tester help -> User Interface -> Hotkeys.
Hasta la vista
Mike

Bandiit
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Shortcut Keys

#3 Postby Bandiit » Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:09 pm

There are already short keys on Ctrl+B for buy and Ctrl+S for sell. :) And you can configure predefined list of orders in Tools->Options->Trading. Also see useful hotkeys in Forex Tester help -> User Interface -> Hotkeys.


Hey! Thank you for info!

Still nice to have option can be possibility to configure more keys like move SL..but having predefined list of orders and short keys for Buy Sell is already a big help for me!

ProFX
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:10 pm

Crosshair shortcut

#4 Postby ProFX » Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:14 am

In MT4 the crosshair shortcut is very useful(ctrl+F). I use it all the time.
Some kind of shortcut assign tool where it is possible to assign shortcuts to all of the available trading tools would be the ultimate or the second best option; predefined shortcuts to all the trading tools or at least the most commonly used. But lets start with the crosshair shortcut...

User avatar
Terranin
Site Admin
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:39 pm

Re: Crosshair shortcut

#5 Postby Terranin » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:43 am

ProFX wrote:In MT4 the crosshair shortcut is very useful(ctrl+F). I use it all the time.
Some kind of shortcut assign tool where it is possible to assign shortcuts to all of the available trading tools would be the ultimate or the second best option; predefined shortcuts to all the trading tools or at least the most commonly used. But lets start with the crosshair shortcut...


Crosshair shortcut is a middle mouse button. :)
Hasta la vista

Mike

ProFX
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:10 pm

#6 Postby ProFX » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:55 am

The middle mouse button does not work for me(Logitech mouse). Logitech has a zoom function on the middle button. It would be nice to have an alternative.

User avatar
Terranin
Site Admin
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:39 pm

#7 Postby Terranin » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:22 pm

ProFX wrote:The middle mouse button does not work for me(Logitech mouse). Logitech has a zoom function on the middle button. It would be nice to have an alternative.


Some models allow to reprogram buttons, but ok, we will make a shortcut for this in next update.
Hasta la vista

Mike

tonko
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#8 Postby tonko » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:31 am

Bandiit wrote:
There are already short keys on Ctrl+B for buy and Ctrl+S for sell. :) And you can configure predefined list of orders in Tools->Options->Trading. Also see useful hotkeys in Forex Tester help -> User Interface -> Hotkeys.


Hey! Thank you for info!

Still nice to have option can be possibility to configure more keys like move SL..but having predefined list of orders and short keys for Buy Sell is already a big help for me!


Hi,

I am using FT for bactesting to find best solution of stop loss (SL) and take profit (TP) settings, for example 50/50, 50/100, 50/150,... till 1000/1000 etc. I am trading GBP/JPY, so big range...

But in default settings we can put just 10 orders (CTRL+B/S+key (1...0)...

But if I want to test more settings... I have to set up SL and TP (max. 10),
then I run testing for year..., then again setup SL/TP, run testing, again setup SL/TP, and so on...

IMHO solution:
Increase number of orders to CTRL+B/S + key (1..0), + key (Q...P) - actually another 10 pieces, + key (SHIFT+1...SHIFT+P) - another 20 pieces, and + key (ALT+1 ... SHIFT+P)...

or to create multi order ... 25 or 50 or 75 like nowadays 10 but should be done by pressing 1 key...

I know, that forex is boring, but testing is more boring, but this is not testing but just competition in pressing buttons.

Anyway FT is excellent program. What normally used to take 3-4 weeks in excel and manual backtesting, now I can do it in several days, but anyway I will highly appreciate some kind of help... with pressing buttons.

Thank you very much.

Tonko

polakosaur
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:35 am

#9 Postby polakosaur » Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:40 pm

Is there a shortcut ket to be able to switch between screens. Lets say I have a Daily chart and a 1 hour chart, instead of clicking on the chart what if I was able to click ctrl+1 for chart 1 and ctrl+2 for chart 2, or any other combination of keys?

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#10 Postby FT Support » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:07 pm

Please use ctrl+tab to switch between windows.
to change the timeframe of a chart use ctrl+z and ctrl+x
Check our other products here:
www.fx-metropolis.com
www.forexcopier.com

inflate
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:43 pm
Contact:

#11 Postby inflate » Sun Sep 11, 2011 11:00 pm

Hi all
Is there any listing for function keys?
So good to have it
It's a shame I can't remember so many of them

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#12 Postby FT Support » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:28 am

You can find a list of hotkeys in Help (User's interface -> Hotkeys)

Here are some of them:

F2
To open a New market order dialog.

F3
To open a New pending order dialog.

F4
To open a Modify order dialog (an order should be selected first in Open positions or Pending orders).

F5
To close an open position (a position should be selected first in Open positions).

F6
To delete a pending order (an order should be selected first in Pending orders).

Ctrl + O
To open a dialog to place the list of pending orders.

Ctrl + C
To close all open positions and delete all pending orders.

+
To increase the chart horizontal scale.

-
To decrease the chart horizontal scale.

Up arrow key
To scroll the chart forward for a single bar.

Down arrow key
To scroll the chart backward for a single bar.

Page Up
To scroll the chart forward for the number of visible bars.

Page Down
To scroll the chart backward for the number of visible bars.

Ctrl + Enter
To show/hide the Terminal panel.

Ctrl + B
To buy with predefined parameters without opening dialog.

Ctrl + S
To sell with predefined parameters without opening dialog.

Right Shift
To pause testing.

Space
To step forward for a single bar (enabled in Pause mode).

BackSpace
To step backward for a single bar (enabled in Pause mode).

F11
To step forward for a lower timeframe (enabled in Pause mode).

Ctrl + Mouse move
To continue a trend line with the fixed angle moving it with control points.
Check our other products here:

www.fx-metropolis.com

www.forexcopier.com

raindog
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:19 pm

#13 Postby raindog » Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:15 am

Hi, can you refresh my memory: what is the keyboard shortcut to move my stop loss to breakeven? I recall seeing it mentioned on the Forex Smart Tools website, but can't find it any more…

Thanks,

RD

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#14 Postby FT Support » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:30 am

Please use F7 to move stop loss to breakeven
Check our other products here:

www.fx-metropolis.com

www.forexcopier.com

raindog
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:19 pm

#15 Postby raindog » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:09 pm

many thanks, perhaps this should be added to the Shortcuts file?

rd

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#16 Postby FT Support » Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:14 pm

Sure, we'll uspdate help files.
Check our other products here:

www.fx-metropolis.com

www.forexcopier.com

Sam400
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:21 am

#17 Postby Sam400 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:23 am

Can you add a shortcut for increase and decrease the speed of testing?

Paul12
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:35 am

#18 Postby Paul12 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:57 am

Please add shortcuts for all the drawing tools:

e.g horizontal line, poly line, fibs etc

Also in the next update please consider adding a time shift option to the pivot indicator. I don't mind buying extra indicators for FT but something as simple as that should be part of the default indicator considering so many users use pivots and also time shift the historical tick data.

Thanks

brokeMike
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:09 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#19 Postby brokeMike » Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:41 pm

Hi,
2nd for shortcuts for drawing tool and customisable keys (even on a ini file), ie move F11,backspace near the spacebar.
Updating docs would be good ;)
Cheers

Edit, or enable (optional) toggle mode on draw tools ie click line tool, draw many lines, then right click to end line tool.

Have to say the more I use this program the more impressed I am, very powerful app!
Nearly didn't buy it because it hasn't been updated sine june 2013.. I hope it's still in development.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Shortcut Keys

#20 Postby FX Helper » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:09 am

Hello,

We plan to release Forex Tester 3 version which will have new features in Winter - Spring 2015.
We are implementing it at the moment.

brokeMike
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:09 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#21 Postby brokeMike » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:45 am

Great news!
Happy to help alph/beta test it

stepsy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 7:54 am

Re: Shortcut Keys

#22 Postby stepsy » Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:01 am

Chipping in my vote. Yes. Let's have customizable shortcuts. Thanks.

mikeo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:03 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#23 Postby mikeo » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:05 pm

Could we please have shortcut keys to switch time frames?

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Shortcut Keys

#24 Postby FX Helper » Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:16 am

Hello,

You can use Ctrl + X and Ctrl+Z buttons on keyboard to change the timframes of charts.

mikeo
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:03 pm

Re: Shortcut Keys

#25 Postby mikeo » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:41 am

Very good. It might be a good idea to add this to the help file.


Return to “New Feature Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests