NY Close Candles

Ask general questions about the software
Message
Author
DanglaGT
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:33 am

NY Close Candles

#1 Postby DanglaGT » Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:35 am

What settings and steps do I need to use to have my candles be NY close at all times? I am pretty sure this time of year they are GMT+3, but I don't know how DST affects it and between which dates I need to change it.

Does anybody know? Greatly appreciated. Thanks.

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#2 Postby FT Support » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:38 am

Hello,

By default our data are in GMT time zone and daily candles are always closed/opened at 0:00

So for example if you wish to change close/open time of daily candles to 0:00 GMT+3 then please set "Shift time = 3" in currency pair settings (settings are available in Data Center)
Check our other products here:
www.fx-metropolis.com
www.forexcopier.com

User avatar
banny
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:35 am
Location: Lancs, UK
Contact:

#3 Postby banny » Sun Oct 14, 2012 4:59 pm

I am now totally confused by the GMT thing.

At the moment New York 5pm is equivalent to UK 10pm as the UK is 5 hours ahead of New York.

To get New York 5pm close candles should it be GMT+2 or GMT -2 ?

Thanks

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#4 Postby FT Support » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:54 am

according to your calculations it should be +2 because 10 PM GMT is equal to 0:00 GMT+2
Check our other products here:

www.fx-metropolis.com

www.forexcopier.com

User avatar
banny
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:35 am
Location: Lancs, UK
Contact:

#5 Postby banny » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:56 am

FT Support wrote:according to your calculations it should be +2 because 10 PM GMT is equal to 0:00 GMT+2


HI

It's actually +3 as in the UK we are now on GMT +1 until 28 October when we move to GMT.

I tested it on daily and 4 hour candles using time shift +3 and it works fine

D.Gilberto
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:56 am

#6 Postby D.Gilberto » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:01 am

Erm...

I am a little confused by this whole thread... If the daily sessions close at 00:00 GMT London Time and you`re wanting the daily sessions to close at 5pm when the US TRADING SESSION CLOSES, then you`ll need -2 time shift to switch it from 00:00 GMT daily close in forex tester, to 22:00 GMT..

Take 5 hours from 22:00 GMT = 17:00pm ET - US SESSION CLOSE.

https://www.finotec.com/trading-times.php - scroll right down to the bottom of the page and see the live trading session clocks.

Or if you`re really hardcore about time zones this website is the t*ts

http://www.stocktime.ru/en/index.html

FT Support
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:54 am
Contact:

#7 Postby FT Support » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:17 pm

D.Gilberto wrote:Erm...

I am a little confused by this whole thread... If the daily sessions close at 00:00 GMT London Time and you`re wanting the daily sessions to close at 5pm when the US TRADING SESSION CLOSES, then you`ll need -2 time shift to switch it from 00:00 GMT daily close in forex tester, to 22:00 GMT..

Take 5 hours from 22:00 GMT = 17:00pm ET - US SESSION CLOSE.

https://www.finotec.com/trading-times.php - scroll right down to the bottom of the page and see the live trading session clocks.

Or if you`re really hardcore about time zones this website is the t*ts

http://www.stocktime.ru/en/index.html


Sorry but this is not correct. Please use +2 in "time shift" setting if you need to see daily bars opened and closed at 5 PM EST

5 PM EST is equal to 10 PM GMT and this is equal to 0:00 GMT+2 so you have to shift data in the program for +2 hours.
Check our other products here:

www.fx-metropolis.com

www.forexcopier.com

Julian8974
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:48 am

Re: NY Close Candles

#8 Postby Julian8974 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:07 am

Does shifting the time zone in FT3 to brokers' time really matter? I still don't get it since the whole purpose of FT3 is for us to practice/ test our trade strategies prior to trade in live market.

Please explain more details should I overlook the important points if time shifting really affect the effectiveness of testing trade strategies in FT3.

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: NY Close Candles

#9 Postby FX Helper » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:22 am

Hello

If you test 4H and higher timeframes then it is better to have the same time zone of data as your broker has.
In this case you will see the same candles as in your trading platform.

If you test lower timeframes then the candles will be the same but the time of these candles will be different if you have a different time zone.

K-FX
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:45 am
Location: London

Re: NY Close Candles

#10 Postby K-FX » Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:15 am

Prior to these postings I struggled with adjusting the time frames and imported the data as per this forum thread using tick history:

viewtopic.php?t=3479

I find it useful to align the times of my live broker close which is 10pm UK time as I trade 4hr candles and closing 10pm and 12midnight would form different 4hr candles. It would not make a difference on say 15m charts.

enja86
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:50 pm

Re: NY Close Candles

#11 Postby enja86 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:56 pm

i also hv problem with setting with NY close candle. i set to + 2 GMT but candle still close at 0000Hrs. how? any suggustion?

Lana_FT_support
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:26 am

Re: NY Close Candles

#12 Postby Lana_FT_support » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:10 am

Please check this guide: www.forextester.com/topic?id=92 , it should be of help.
In case the issue persists, please send a screenshot to support@forextester.com
We'll do our best to help you out.

bergo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:19 am
Location: Soho
Contact:

Re: NY Close Candles

#13 Postby bergo » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:36 am

Thanks for sharing the tips here. They are very helpful!
To want to, is to be able to.


Return to “General Questions about FT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest