Time zone

Ask general questions about the software
Message
Author
tfs_3
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:05 pm

Time zone

#1 Postby tfs_3 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:47 pm

I'm starting a new project and I have some questions regarding time zone configuration.

- What time zone am I supposed to use? My time zone? My broker time zone?
- Why changing the time zone is important and how it can affect my backtesting results?

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Time zone

#2 Postby FX Helper » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:45 am

Hello,

We provide all historical data in GMT+0 time zone.

Most of the brokers work in GMT+3 time zone so if you want to see 5 days a week data (without candles on Saturday and Sunday) then you need to perform testing in the time zone of a broker.

So in this case you will need to create a new project with GMT+3 time zone and use it.

tfs_3
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:05 pm

Re: Time zone

#3 Postby tfs_3 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:34 am

Thank you, FX Helper.

Josesv
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:53 am

Re: Time zone

#4 Postby Josesv » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:08 pm

My broker use to 5 days a week from 00:00 EET on Monday to 23:59:59 EET on Friday. Although there aren't necessarily any trading sessions, like with stock exchanges, banks in different parts of the world have different trading hours. In the table below, you can see when Forex trading opens and closes at banks around the world.
See the different zonetime in https://alpari.com/en/faq/trading_terms ... ing_hours/


Return to “General Questions about FT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests