Tick package size - influence on results

Ask general questions about the software
Message
Author
fxmz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 7:21 am

Tick package size - influence on results

#1 Postby fxmz » Sun May 07, 2017 8:12 am

I want to check if I understand this properly:

I read elsewhere on the forum "Forex Tester strategies work tick by tick. So if you select the timeframe of strategy as "1 hour" it will still work tick by tick and calculate value every tick."

So this means (when in Testing-mode):
whatever time-frame I choose for Tick Package Size will ONLY influence the chart updating and NOT have any influence on when/how orders are opened/closed.
Correct?

(I am afraid that e.g when setting it to one hour FT will only use every 60th minute tick to decide on Open/Close)

FX Helper
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: Tick package size - influence on results

#2 Postby FX Helper » Sun May 07, 2017 9:23 am

Hello,

Yes, correct, the results will be the same despite the "Tick package size" value you select, the only difference is in the speed of testing (how much of new data will be shown per a tick on a chart).

fxmz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 7:21 am

Re: Tick package size - influence on results

#3 Postby fxmz » Mon May 08, 2017 3:00 am

OK good to hear. thanks


Return to “General Questions about FT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest